Main PageAbout UsParticipantsGrantees/HostsAlumniMedia/News
Press Articles
Press Releases
Calender of Events
Photo Gallery
Open World Brings First Delegation From Egypt
April 18, 2013

Egyptian Judges Will Be Hosted in Boston and Miami

Maura Shelden
Open World Leadership Center
Tel. 202-707-6197

WASHINGTON, D.C. The Open World Leadership Center, the Congressional agency working to increase international understanding and partnerships, will welcome 10 judges from Egypt April 18. This is Open Worlds first delegation from Egypt and signals the agencys expansion into emerging democracies outside of Eurasia.

The delegations will attend an orientation April 19 at the Administrative Office of the United States Courts along with another Open World delegation consisting of judges from five other countries including Estonia, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, and Ukraine. Welcoming the large group will be:

Judge Richard Bennett, U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland

Judge A. Jay Cristol, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Florida

Judge Lloyd George, U.S. District Court for the District of Nevada

Judge John Kennedy, Utah State District Court, Salt Lake City, Utah

The Egyptian judges will be hosted in Boston and Miami for an intensive 8-day program. The Boston host is Marianne Bowler, Magistrate Judge, U. S. District Court, District of Massachusetts, judicial assistant Eileen Feeney, and World Boston. The Miami host is Judge A. Jay Cristol, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Florida and the Miami Center for International Visitors.

Open World has introduced more than 19,000 current and future decision makers from Russia and other countries of the former Soviet Union to American political and civic life, and to their American counterparts. Open World delegates range from first-time mayors to veteran journalists, from nonprofit directors to small-business advocates, and from political activists to judges at all levels.

In addition to Russia, Open World also operates dynamic programs in Ukraine, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Serbia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan. The U.S. Congress established Open World in 1999. In 2003, Congress made all post-Soviet states eligible for the program. Open World promotes partnerships and continued communications between delegates and their American hosts and professional counterparts.